Old Entry 1

KC2: The Best and Worst in Music

By KBVU on March 10th, 2008

Ok, im just going to jump right into this. Basically, I brainstormed what to write these things on…and I’m going to try doing a best and worst (see post title) in music for the week. This time I’m going to just do bands of the week. This is all opinion, so if you don’t like what I say, try to argue. )

Courtesy RoadrunnerRecords.comGood Band of the week: Cavalera Conspiracy

First off, I’m not actually a huge extreme-metal fan, so you will find I’m not being biased on this one. If you are a huge metal fan, then you’ve probably listened to Sepultura and Soulfly. Now a little background info…Sepultura consisted of the brothers Cavalera, Igor and Max. There was a falling out and Max went on to form Soulfly. After like 10 years, the two have decided to join back up.  The first CD, Inflikted, gets released March 25th. I’ve downloaded their first single, and I can tell you, if you are a metal fan…it’s brutal.

Courtesy Myspace.com

Bad Band of the week: Panic! at the Disco/Panic at the Disco

Well the 8-year-old teenage band is back, this time they realized they had bad grammar and took out the exclamation point. This band is selling out multiple dates on their latest tour, and I can’t figure out why. It’s a terrible band. It’s not just that I’m not a fan of the emo/scene/bad hair-genres. It’s that these guys have not shown me anything new, they’ve just been ripping off former legends. If you want to see a good version of what PAD does, check out David Bowie, Marilyn Manson, and Queen among others. Their next CD also comes out on the 25th. Their first single off it does not impress me, but I didn’t expect it to. So I’ll be interested to see if their song titles will be “I asked the big book for a lollipop and I got a lemur!“, “Bouncy balls. Always tryin’ to escape.“, and “You remember when I was a little girl and I could play Rahmaninov’s Second Piano Concerto and everyone was talking about my potential“ – all are lines Natalie Portman says in Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium. If you are older than 15, spend your money on a good CD, practice illegal downloading with this one. (PS. Panic…remove the genres from your myspace profile, you are not Big Beat nor Techno.

Leave a Reply

