old post 2

KC2: The Best and Worst in Music

By KBVU on March 26th, 2008

Alright, I’m back in the mix after a little vacation. Had a short week to work with, but I think I’ve got some good stuff. Let me know what you think…

Dr. PepperGood thing of the week: Dr. Pepper

I don’t know if its just me, but Dr. Pepper has been supporting music a lot these days. I mean, yeah…Pepsi has its thing, but I’m really opening my eyes to the new ideas that Dr. Pepper has been trying. It gives them excellent promotion, but it also helps to give musicians promotion too.  They just finished that whole “Band in the Bubble” stunt with the band Cartel. They’ve done various ad promotions with high profile musicians. And now, they’ve really done it. I read a headline today…it went something like this – “Dr Pepper Will Give Everyone* in America a Free Soda If Axl Rose Releases New Guns N’ Roses Album, Chinese Democracy, In 2008″ …now you may notice the “star” after “Everyone” it is stated that everyone in America will recieve a Dr. Pepper, EXCEPT Slash and Buckethead. I guess Dr. Pepper is pissed they quit GnR. If anyone has not heard of the legendary Chinese Democracy album, it is the album Axl has been working on for something like 17 years. Each year it is one of the most anticipated releases of the year, and each year Axl holds it back. I think we were close to gettin it in 2007 – even had an approximate date. I think it is about time that something lit a fire under Rose’s @$$ to get this thing released. I’m tired of the speculation as to whether it will be the most amazing album of all time or the biggest dissapointment ever. Chinese Democracy – “Just what the Dr. ordered”

Jeff BuckleyBad thing of the week: Lack of Dead-Legends-for-our-generation

Heath Ledger died. This is widely regarded as a bad thing. But, on the other hand, now he gets to be forever a legend – right along side James Dean and Brandon Lee.  This is something few think of right when a young artist dies…he/she will now not have the opportunity to throw away their careers, sell-out, or burn-out. Think of the musicians, Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, and Jim Morrison. They all died at 27 back at the end of the 60’s, they are forever regarded as some of the best musicians of their time. Bassist Cliff Burton died after a tragic bus accident, his years with Metallica are regarded as some of the best in all metal. Since his death, Metallica has been deemed sellouts. Nirvana and Sublime were good bands in the 90’s, then their front-men died – they became legendary bands. This brings me to my point. We have been seriously lacking in “Legends” for our generation. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t condone death by suicide, drug over dose, or drive-by. But I worry that music of our time will not be looked at as highly because no one has “died before their time”. Pete Wentz, of Fallout Boy, recently came out confessing his suicide attempt. I found it to be pretentious. What, are you crying out for more attention? Is Ashlee not giving you enough? You need people to feel sorry for you now? Said Wentz – “I remember I was listening to Jeff Buckley doing Leonard Cohen’s ‘Hallelujah’ and sat there and took a bunch of Ativan in a Best Buy parking lot.” First off, do you think you’re cool because you dropped Jeff Buckley’s name? Name a different song of his and I might have been impressed. “Eternal Life” – that would have been ironic. Second, you failed at suicide!! You were so close to making Fallout Boy into a legendary band, now that would be quite a feat.

Leave a Reply

