10 Vocalists

Top 10 lists seem to be fun. This is one for my favorite lead singers, I repeat, favorite – not best ever! Besides the best ever should get listed, not ranked…cause nobody will agree. I choose this list based on who I listen to on a regular basis. I excluded any guys from older/classic bands. And, this one is all male, I will probably do an all female one later.

Justin from Blue October

10. Justin Warfield (She Wants Revenge) – This guy makes ‘creepy’ cool. This is what you’d want your stalker to sound like…if your stalker wrote you songs about illicit things in a bathroom and tearing you apart. [favorite work – Tear You Apart]

9. Corey Taylor (Stone Sour/Slipknot) – He’s probably on my list simply because I’m part Iowan. But really, I love his singing voice, because it’s down in my range and he can hold out a quality note. Before he shredded his vocal chords, he also had one of the coolest screams in today’s metal. [favorite work – Before I Forget]

8. Chester Bennington (Linkin Park) – I think he has one of the best screams in all of music. And, nobody really does like him either. While I like the harder linkin park sound better than their mellow tracks, I really prefer when Chester handles the vocals alone without Shinoda. Check out his lengthy scream in “Given Up” [favorite work – Don’t Stay]

7. Randy Blythe (Lamb of God) – Although I’m a big metal fan, I don’t particularly like the constant screaming. Blythe however – makes it work. You can actually understand what he’s saying, unlike many similar vocalists. His vocals combined with blazing guitar riffs, makes for some brutal music. [favorite work – Redneck]

6. Serj Tankian (System of a Down/solo) – If I could have 2 wishes regarding this guy, the first would be that he was still making music with System, the second – that Daron (the guitarist) never sang again. Daron’s vocals ruin SOAD songs. “Lonely Day” would have been one of the greatest songs ever, if Serj had sang it. Listen to one of their first songs – “Spiders” – hear that at the end of the bridge? Yeah, he’s singing in quarter tones…you can’t really teach that. [favorite work – Spiders]

5. M. Shadows (Avenged Sevenfold) – I really like this band. They are over the top, but not too much. This is another very unique voice in today’s metal. His clean vocals still have an edge that I think fits perfectly with the music. [favorite work – Seize the Day]

4. Brandon Boyd (Incubus) – Incubus is a lot calmer than they used to be, but Boyd’s vocals are always quality. Once this guy cut his dreds, his sex appeal shot through the roof. If you got introduced to Incubus through “Drive”, “Anna-Molly”, or “Megalomaniac” – then go check out SCIENCE. It’s still my favorite of theirs. [Favorite work – Nice to Know You] 

3. Chris Cornell (Soundgarden/Audioslave/solo) – In all honesty, I was never a huge Soundgarden fan. They are cool and all, but I didn’t really start paying attention to Cornell until Audioslave. Then I realized how powerful and unique his voice is. On a side note, the guy from Operator sounds very similar. [favorite work – Show Me How To Live]

2. Justin Furstenfeld (Blue October) – This guys is just great all around, I love his voice and I love his songwriting. It’s unfortunate that “Hate Me” got so overplayed, but people should really check out their earlier work. It’s hard to choose just one track to label best. [favorite work – For My Brother]

1. Ville ValVille Valoo (H.I.M.) – I got introduced to this band by my roommate 4 years ago, and have been hooked ever since. As I said in a previous entry, Valo has an amazing range. He hits all kinds of high notes in songs like “Wicked Game” and then gets crazy low in “Venus Doom”. This band has done quite a few covers, one of their more rare ones you can only find on youtube – “Larger than Life”. [favorite work – And Love Said No]

4 Responses to “10 Vocalists”

  1. I like Incubus alot. The only problem with Incubus is they really need to get a little more creative with their music. Kind of one of those, you heard one song, you heard them all.

    My favorite Incubus is Hail to the Thief.

  2. I think they lost a step when Dirk Lance stopped playing bass for them. Nothing against Kenney, but I don’t think there’s much to his basslines comparatively.

  3. sry for the abuses in the “drummers”..
    but this list is a well-thought out list.. good compilation..

    + i gotta kw loads abt some other vocalists..
    keep it up!

  4. wow…your music sucks, except for corey and randy. and nothing is wrong with constant screaming

Leave a Reply

