Best part of a song 1.0

Driving home today, listening to loud music in my car, I came across a realization. I LOVE a good bridge. Now, the chorus is supposed to be the cool, catchy part of the song, but what makes a song for me is the bridge. That’s the part that really gets me going. There’s so many things that artists do with a bridge too. It’s the place to have a key change, a guitar solo, a buildup, alternate lyrics, etc. I thought I would share just a few of my favorites, so you can check them out for yourself.

Avenged Sevenfold – Beast and the Harlot (3:26-4:19) Starts with a little build-up, then gets right into it. Basically my favorite thing to play in guitar hero.

Disturbed – Down with the Sickness (3:07-4:05) This breakdown has one of the most riduculously angry rants in all of music.

Enter Shikari – Ok, Time for Plan B (3:06-End) This bridge has basically all the elements of a bridge in one, it starts with a build up, its got alternate lyrics, more angst, a break down, a heavier riff and it also makes for a great time to mention the name of the song.

Flyleaf – Breathe Today(2:01-2:17) This one is short and sweet. My favorite Flyleaf song, and that’s because of her scream that takes place within those 16 seconds.

Future Leaders of the World – Kill Pop(2:40-end) This one has a great little speed part that gets faster and faster…until a triplet breaks it down to half time.

Inbubus – Nebula(2:09-3:00) Its all psycadelic for a while, then has one of the most aggressive riffs I’ve heard Incubus do.

Korn – Freak on a Leash (2:33-3:29) Classic Korn, Jonathan Davis at his best. Screaming god knows what, but everyone seemed to love that part.

Limp Bizkit – Sanatarium (2:33-end) Sure, in this cover of metallica’s Welcome Home, you have to deal with a little Durst speak, but it’s well worth it. DJ Lethal does an impressive job of scratching his way though the solo.

Rage Against the Machine¬†– Ghost of Tom Joad(3:26-4:54) Basically Tom Morrello is the god of bridges, listen to any RATM or Audioslave and you’ll hear awesome bridges.

There’s so many more that I want to include, but I was going to try to stay away from doing a list today, and yet…

I wanted to also mention Queen – Bohemian Rhapsody…but I couldn’t really label a bridge…the whole damn song is a bridge, and it all rocks. So, remember there’s nothing like a good bridge. I’d also be interested to check out any of your suggestions.

Leave a Reply

