10 Female Vocalists

This seems like the best topic to go with today. Now I could pay homage to past stars like Pat Benatar and Heart, but I again went with my favorites. And, I kept it in the Rock/Alternative genre, I don’t wanna get into how well Christina Aguilara sings or how popular Carrie Underwood is.

10. Sharon Den Adel (Within Temptation) – This Dutch band caught my attention a while back. Its the traditional hot-chick with guys backing her. Listen to the single “What Have You Done”. This band picks up where Evanescence left off. I’ll take her over Amy Lee anyday…and I don’t have to be sober. [favorite work – What Have You Done]

9. Angela Gossow (Arch Enemy) – Sweedish death metal, fronted by a German blonde. This woman’s vocals are sick. I can’t imagine she isn’t tearing up her vocal chords with that sound. [favorite work – Silent Wars]

8. Gwen Stefani (No Doubt) – While more pop than rock, No Doubt still falls into one of my favorite female fronted bands. Although, I don’t like Gwen’s solo stuff so much. [favorite work – Hella Good]

7. Lacey Mosley (Flyleaf) – She would be higher on my list, but I caught a video of her singing live and it was terrible. But the way Flyleaf took over alternative radio with “I’m so Sick” and “Fully Alive”, I had to keep them on this list. They probably are one of those bands that is thankful for a good producer. [favorite work – Breathe Today]

6. Avril Lavigne (band-named-after-her) – No, I won’t call her music punk. So don’t worry there. But she makes that “punk” outfit look good. She wears mascara well. She rocks just enough to be kinda cool. You can’t tell me that there weren’t a ton of guys that wished “Girlfriend” and “Sk8ter Boi” were written about them. [favorite work – Girlfriend]

5. Cassandra Ford (Vincent Black Shadow) – Think No Doubt with a lot more black.  There’s a good chance you haven’t heard of this band. If you have, you’re lucky…if not, you have the internet, use it. [favorite work – Control]

Vincent Black ShadowParamore

4. Hayley Williams (Paramore) – She’s young, pretty, and full of energy. She more than makes up for the annoying hairdoos of her bandmates. Paramore came in with a blast, being voted “best new artists” in a lot of polls. They took over Avril’s pop-punk market and seeped into Flyleaf’s rock market too. [favorite work – Misery Business]

3. Morgan Lander (Kittie) – Kittie was one of the first female-metal bands to hit mainstream. They have a good sound, mixing singing with screaming. This 4-woman band has boasted 11 current and former members. [favorite work – Brackish]

2. Maria Brink (In This Moment) – I’m a little bit biased on this one, because I got to meet and do a radio interview with her and guitarist Chris Howorth. But still, I think this is one of the coolest new bands in hard rock. Maria has a fairly good scream and a good singing voice. [favorite work – Prayers]

1. Otep Shamaya (Otep) – Otep takes scary and badass to a new level. She’s a very gritty song writer, with some disturbing lyrics. She’s got an awesome scream and a growl other females could never achieve. Otep does a pretty cool cover of Nirvana’s “Breed” [favorite work – Ghostflowers]

the_Ascension cover

One Response to “10 Female Vocalists”

  1. Shirley Manson for me.

Leave a Reply

