Musicals that are ok for a “Guy” to like…

So, I’m watching “Tommy” right now, and I was just thinking, “wow, I actually kinda like some of the songs in this.” Then my second thought was – I hate musicals. I really do. I even used to fast forward though the songs in some Disney movies. Breaking out into lip-sync’d song and perfectly choreographed dance is totally bothersome for me. It’s just not realistic. (Did I mention I like fantasy, sci-fi, and comic-book movies?) I tend to find that some songs in musicals really drag on and don’t move the story along. And, lastly, I’m male. Musicals and stuff on (and off) Broadway appeal to women and gay-men. It’s not “cool” for a straight guy to be into musicals. So this is my top-10 list of musicals ok for a guy to like.

10. Grease – If you haven’t seen Grease yet, go do so…otherwise you’re un-American. For the rest of you well-cultured people, you understand that this one is ok to be on the list. Exact opposite would be West Side Story. Sorry, a fight can not involve snapping and a snazzy walk.

9. Purple Rain – Prince is a heck of a musician. This movie is sort of a long music video…so put Pink Floyd’s: The Wall here too.

8. Nightmare Before Christmas – This Tim Burton movie is a creepy work of claymation.

7. Rock-n-roll High School – I actually haven’t seen this, but I figure it’s filled with the Ramones music, so its ok to see.

6. The Muppet Movie – What? You were 7 once too. This movie was awesome. All the other Muppet movies are ok to watch too.

5. South Park: Bigger, Longer, Uncut – I didn’t even think about this being a musical until I saw it listed as that on IMDB. So kudos to Matt and Trey for creating a cartoon with foul-mouthed songs.

4. Tommy – I mentioned this above. This just has a bunch of cool musicians from that era all in one messed up world of a “rock opera”. “Pinball Wizard” is a cool song. And, the Who still get to smash their instruments in it.

3. Reefer Madness – No, not the one made in the 30’s. That’s just crap. Stupid pot propaganda. The musical made in 2005, is sweet. It totally makes fun of the original.

2. Sweeny Todd – Take a dark world, add Helena Carter, multiply by Johnny Depp and you have…well, almost every Tim Burton movie. This movie was cool. Johnny Depp does an (expected) awesome job. The younger guy that falls for Todd’s daughter is a bit “fugly” but he can sing.

1. Across the Universe – The Beatles rock. This has already been established. So when I heard this movie was coming out, I had to see what they’d do with it. I mostly expected to see how they screwed stuff up. But, I was pleasantly suprised. It’s a real musical, and all the songs work. Ok, maybe they really didn’t need the Eddie Izzard one, just cause it over-does the “psychadelic” portion of the movie.

4 Responses to “Musicals that are ok for a “Guy” to like…”

  1. I can’t believe you left out the greatest musical event of our entire lifetime – Pink Floyd – The Wall.

    Forgiven this time, don’t let it happen again.

    I love Tommy. I watch it every time it’s on TV.
    Sweeney Todd was pretty cool too.
    I think South Park should be banned in every nation in the world.

  2. well…like i said on #9… its really just a long music video, so it almost doesn’t count. 😉

  3. Let me get this right. You want me to put Pink Floyd – The Wall next to purple rain?

    Dude, are you aware it is a sin in some countries and a crime in others to mention Pink Floyd and Prince in the same paragraph?

    You can make up for all these sins and crimes by re-doing your best guitarist list to include David Gilmour.

  4. Grease is really catchy. I don’t normally listen to that sort of music, although i am open to nearly all different genres.
    Sweeney Todd is awesome too, and the fact that Johnny Depp is in in makes it even better. He is a great actor.

Leave a Reply

