10 guitarist frontmen

Ok, so I figured out how I want to go at listing my top guitarists. I have 3 lists. Top Guitarist-Frontmen (they sing lead and play), Top Guitar Duos (neither sing) and Top Solo Guitarists (the only melody maker and doesn’t really sing). So, 7/17/08 will be Frontmen, 7/18/08 will be Duos, and 7/19/08 will be alone-s. And, maybe I will do a “best of” compilation after that…I don’t know yet. So for today enjoy my top 10 guitar playing frontmen. 

10. Tom Delonge (Blink 182, Boxcar Racer, Angels & Airwaves) – He should be higher on my list simply because of my unreasonable love for Blink 182. The guy does not have the greatest voice, plays guitar only kinda-good, and created a whole new fad for comb-overs. But, I like all the work he’s done in Boxcar Racer, Angels and Airwaves, and Blink…even if his pretentiousness broke up the band. [favorite work – Not Now]

9. Matthew Bellamy (Muse) – Ok, in all honesty, I didn’t even know his name until I wikipedia’d it. All I know is, he’s awesome in Muse. He probably has one of the best falsetto voices out there. I think he’s more talented than Coldplay’s Chris Martin. [favorite work – Starlight]

8. Ben Burnley (Breaking Benjamin) – This is one of those guys that doesn’t look like his music. But, I’m definitly into what he does. I haven’t gotten a chance to see them perform live, but I’ve had a few friends say that Breaking Benjamin was an awesome live show. [favorite work – Natural Life]

7. Chad Kroeger (Nickelback, ‘himself’) – Oh my god…I put the guy from Nickelback? Really?? YES. Face it, the guy’s voice sells. He did those singles with Santana, those were popular. He did “Hero” with the guy from Saliva, that was a cool song. And, oh yeah, he fronts the biggest rock band in current music. On top of all that, he seems like a cool guy. I’ve seen YouTube videos of him showing his respect for cool old metal bands. [favorite work – Never Again]

6. Dave Mustaine (Megadeth, Metallica) – Skill-wise, he should be higher on the list. He’s always going to be in Metallica’s shadow. It’s his fault for not being able to handle his drink. Anyway, the music he’s done with Megadeth is great. [favorite work – Use The Man]

5. Wayne Static (Static-X) – I don’t know how this guy isn’t constantly hoarse. The way he screams through all their songs, his vocals have to be torn up. I’ve been a huge fan ever since “Push it” and “I’m With Stupid” came out. The song he does for the “Queen of the Damned” soundtrack is my favorite off that movie. [favorite work – Kill Your Idols]

4. Shaun Morgan (Seether) – Seether always seems to have great music for whatever mood I’m in, whether its angry, depressed, energetic, fun, or somber. Shaun puts on a great live show, and I still say he’s like the 2nd coming of Kurt Cobain. When I saw them do a cover of “You Know You’re Right”, I thought it was Kurt. [favorite work – No Jesus Christ]

3. Billie Joe Armstrong (Greenday, The Network, Foxboro Hottubs) – This guy created “pop-punk”. You couldn’t get away from his voice on the radio in the 90’s. Ten years later, he does it again, this time with more maturity. [favorite work – Time of Your Life]

2. Dave Grohl (Foo Fighters, Nirvana, Probot, Queens of the Stone Age) – I really wanted to put him on my “drummer” list, but I knew I wanted to save him for this one. They guy is awesome, he’s got a great personality, and he plays great music – whether its drums, guitars, or singing. He was even voted “Best Rock Guitarist” in Guitar World magazine. I wonder if Kurt had stayed alive, would it have robbed us of the fighters of foo? [favorite work – All My Life]

Go to fullsize image

1. James Hetfield (Metallica) – This guy is a badass. His voice is rough, angry, larger than life, and not pretty. And, it used to be better before he blew out his vocal chords. He’s got easily the best picking hand out of long lists of guitar players. [favorite work – Master of Puppets]

2 Responses to “10 guitarist frontmen”

  1. Dude! Josh Homme?!?! There is no way that Tom Delonge and Shaun Morgan make it on this list before the front man from Queens of the Stone Age.. and Mathew Bellamy is better than No. 9

  2. well, I honestly had him in mind…but decided that songs I’ve heard off “Era Vulgaris” annoy me….but their previous works rock.
    Just to defend myself, Tom was in a group that influence basically every band that calls themselves punk/emo/scene today. And 2, I love Shaun Morgan. He’s about as close to Cobain sounding as you can get.

    peace.

Leave a Reply

