The machines will make us dance…

So, I’m combining two different articles I read about in the last couple days. The first one being a top 10 list for movies that are very unfaithful to science. One of them being the Matrix, because the human body does NOT actually produce much energy in a very efficient way. The second article being about a “power-generating dance floor”.

This sounds completely badass. People waste a ton of potential energy, and no I’m not talking about me sitting on a couch all day playing with my laptop. I mean when I go to the gym, and jump on the treadmill for a mile or so. Not only is the force I’m exerting being unused, but the machine takes power just to run the belt, displays, and tiny fans. Imagine if our resistance training would not include weights, but actually some kind of generator for electricity. I’m not exactly sure how the machines would look for actual strength training, but harnessing the energy of running/biking people should be fairly easy.

Well, the first step has been made, maybe not with gym-type exercise, but with dance. A few clubs around the globe have been putting in “power-generating dance floors”. I was reading an article about UK’s first club to try it out, and how it works…here.

This is pretty amazing, I don’t know how efficient it is, but I gotta think it’s a good thing. Rather than just having people come in and pretend to dance, jump around, and use up all their energy, they can harness that to power up all the lights and equipment to cut down on energy costs. Now, if they could only do something about the heat too…

But, this article proves the Matrix was wrong, we’re not going to just lie there bald and dreaming. The machines will make us dance. Think about it…what is the music played at most clubs lately? Techno! AKA…made mostly by computers and not instruments. So really, the scene where all of Zion is dancing after an uplifting Morpheus speech…that’s where they really harness the energy. Paul Oakenfold and Moby will be the death of us all…

One Response to “The machines will make us dance…”

  1. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this
    website. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s challenging to get
    that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appeal.
    I must say you’ve done a superb job with this. In addition,the blog loads super fast for me on Safari.

    Exceptional Blog!

Leave a Reply

