Songs I’m Addicted to This Week

It’s been a really slow week, I’ve hardly been motivated to write or find anything new in music…but of course, there’s no way I could go a week without listening to something!

1. Shiny Toy Guns – Le Disko – I had heard of Shiny Toy Guns and I had heard this song, but I never actually realized this was by them until just recently. Take equal parts – techno and girl-rock – and you’ll have this song. The first line is really the lyric that everyone seems to know.

2. Jeff Buckley – Hallelujah – I know this is a song that everyone seems to obsess over. Props to Cohen for doing the original, but really Buckley made this song amazing.

3. Marilyn Manson – Tainted Love – I’m not a big fan of Manson’s latest CD, the guitar parts were really lacking without John 5. So I’m still listening to classic Manson. His own music is pretty cool, but I love when he does covers. This is one of my favorite music videos too. Chyler Leigh makes out to be one of the hottest goth-chicks ever.

4. Flogging Molly – If I Ever Leave This World Alive – I’m not Irish, so I’m not totally obsessed with this band. But, I like their tunes and I think this one is very cool. It’s a sad, but fun song…in terms of lyrics about death.

5. Blink 182 – Not Now – The last ever song from Blink 182. Also one of their best and most mature. It’s a very fitting “goodbye” song.

6. Guano Apes – Open Your Eyes – You might recognize this from the late 90’s. I “re-found” this song a couple years ago while working at my college radio station. I had never known the song name nor who it was by until then. It’s a pretty cool tune and really catchy.

7. Monster in the Machine – Savior – I got this CD for free. Its pretty cool, nothing amazing to rave about. But, I really like this song, with its flow and baritone vocals.

8. Deftones – Passenger – It’s an underrated song off the Deftones’ White Pony album. Chino and Maynard James Keenan combine for a very eerie but great song. And, this also falls under the songs-with-cool-bridges catagory.

9. Seether – Six Gun Quota – One of the songs that are not a single from Seether’s newest album, 6GQ is really cool. Its just Seether doing their angst-filled alt.rock, with a real catchy chorus.

10. Strata – Cocaine – It has a very cool hand-drawn music video. Its a haunting song that anyone with a daughter or anyone who’s ever tried to pick up a girl from a club would fear. Plus, you’ve gotta love the lyric “she don’t like cocaine baby, just likes how it smells”

One Response to “Songs I’m Addicted to This Week”

  1. armgeddon albums:

    Machine Head the blackening!!

    PJ HARVEY: white chalk

    When are Poison going to release???

Leave a Reply

