Songs I’m Addicted to This Week

Well…its that time again. I’ve been trying to find some new music, but there isn’t that much new stuff that’s very exciting.

1. Avenged Sevenfold – Seize the Day – I’ve loved this song ever since it came out. Its a damn good love song. The lyrics are great, and the video is pretty cool too.

2. SR-71 – Tomorrow – Well, this song is kind of the opposite of the last one. In the video, its not about love so much as being cheated on by the one you love. I’ve never heard anything this band has done before or since this song. So, I don’t know if the rest of their work is as good.

3. Trigger Point – Silent Protest – Ok, so I did my review earlier on this band…I’ve been hooked on this song ever since. It’s heavy as hell and has a somewhat unique sound for today’s metal.

4. Fair to Midland – Dance of the Manatee – I think this is one of the stupidest song names ever, but its a very different song and its kinda cool. The guy’s voice really rings out on these. Reminds me a little bit of the band Dream Theater (without the technical playing).

5. Cauterize – Closer – This is my favorite song from the relatively unknown Canadian band. When we added it to my college radio station’s playlist…we got a lot of calls asking for “that butterfly song”.

6. Blue Flannel – Having a Bad Day – First heard this song from the movie “Bubbleboy”. Even though it’s all about hating stuff, it’s kind of a fun song.

7. Shwayze – Corona and Lime – I’ve been avoiding this band as hard as I can. I’ve been seeing commericials for them all over VH1 and MTV. So, I know its bad if I “discover” a band through either of those means…if I haven’t heard of you through some other medium…you’re probably not that talented (80’s and early 90’s music excluded). But hey, this song is catchy …damnit.

8. Red Jumpsuit Apparatus – Face Down – Honestly, I liked this song a long time ago. So, this is really just a song-revisited. Its not a “heavy” song really…but it has a very heavy feel to it.

9. Motion City Soundtrack – This is for Real – This is just a fun and catchy song. It’s probably my favorite MCS song. And, since its from their latest CD, it means they are still improving…so, their next CD should be even better, right?

10. Saosin – You’re Not Alone – I usually listen to Saosin just for the drummer, but this is their song that I really like the vocals. I really like the way he sings this one, but since I don’t sing that high, I can’t really sing along in the car…

Leave a Reply

