Songs I am Addicted to This Week

Well here’s a post I haven’t done in a long time. I’ve just been too busy and not feeling creative enough to write something of quality. BUT there is some cool stuff out there that I’ve been listening to!

1. Dommin – My Heart, Your Hands – I came across this while I was on the Roadrunner Records website. Never heard of this band before, but this is definitly a cool song. They kind of remind me of Type O Negative. They have that big epic sound – there are chimes in the background (my favorite part of the song)

2. Thriving Ivory – Angels on the Moon – When I first saw the video for this, I actually hated it. I thought the guy’s voice was annoying and didn’t actually look like it was coming from him. The voice didn’t match the face. But, this song grew on me, I haven’t really liked any of their other songs, but this one is cool.

3. Theory of a Deadman – Bad Girlfriend – So this was a suprise entry into the genre I like to call “raunch-rock” – ie Buckcherry ‘crazy bitch’, Nickelback ‘animals’, Saving Abel ‘addicted’. Usually ToaD is pretty much regular old rock, power chords, catchy lyrics, radio friendly, and for this band some sort of dislike for California/Hollywood. This song is pretty sweet though, its got all of the above minus the SoCal dis’ing. And, you gotta love when you’re not a rapper and can get your own name into your lyrics “Man she’s hot and fixed to be the future ex-miss Connolly!”

4. Blue October – Come in Closer – Have you seen Blue October’s live DVD ‘Argue with a Tree’ ? If not, do so. Especially if you are an ‘October fan. My roommate had it in college and that’s what made me fall in love with this band. I recently dug into my stash and watched it again this weekend. This song is towards the end. It’s got such a cool aura to it. One of the only times they’ve had a guest singer. Zayra Alvarez, same chick that was one of the contestants on Rockstar: Supernova, does a great job complimenting Justin’s vocals.

5. Heroes Del Silencia – Avalancha – Older band and song, but I was introduced to this from Guitar Hero III. Which I’ve argued with myself whether or  not that’s a good thing. Regardless of this being a personal late discovery, this song rocks. I don’t speak any Spanish, so I have no clue what the lyrics are, although there’s something about an avalanche, I’m guessing. Really catchy, and really cool guitar parts. 

6. Flyleaf – What’s This – Should have written about this a month ago when I got a copy of the Nightmare Before Christmas soundtrack – all covers. My favorite track from the album. It’s haunting and humorous, and it stands alone as a song without the movie really, which the other’s don’t as much.

7. Red Jumpsuit Apparatus – You Better Pray – I didn’t realize this song was by this band when I first heard it. Its more mature, less emo/punky than their earlier stuff. In some ways it actually reminds me of Guns-n-roses, just a little.

8. Saving Abel – New Tattoo – And another one to add to the raunch-rock category. I really like that it kind of narrates a story as well as being a catchy song. Definitly puts some imagery into my mind. …and kind of makes me want to look up my local ink shop.

9. Sick Puppies – Say My Name – One of the coolest covers ever. Take Destiny’s Child, remove everything R&B about it, then sing the chorus over Green Day’s – ‘Brainstew’ chords. Oh, and add some F- words. Sweet. Suprisingly fun to listen to while working out.

10. Apocalyptica – I Don’t Care – Apocalyptica, a band cool enough on their own. Add some guest singers, and you’ve got some good radio tunes. (See Apocalyptica Ft. Corey Taylor – I’m Not Jesus). Adam Gontier already sings some of the most angst filled lyrics when he’s doing his own stuff with Three Days Grace. Put him with violins and you’ve got a tidal wave of emotion. One of those few songs that I like to listen to 2 or 3 times in a row before I move onto the next song.

Leave a Reply

