American Idol: 1 more than top 10

American Idol Grand Ole Opry night…damn, I hate country. Here’s my ranks:  

11. Kris Allen – I was bored for his performance. It was not terrific, Simon. But, probably the best I’ve heard him sing. And, just like Kara stated, it wasn’t country…which means I should have jumped for joy. Instead he made country more boring. 

10. Matt Giraud – I don’t know why, but I still just can’t get behind this guy. He seemed to have a good performance, and again he seems like better behind the piano than Scott. I have nothing to say against him, but he’s definitely not one of my favorites.

9. Alexis Grace – This is a voice that is great, but I didn’t like her version of the song. I really like the White Stripes cover better. She’s still really good though.  

8. Lil’ Rounds – She can sing, that’s established. As Randy said it didn’t feel comfortable, I think she just wasn’t comfortable period. If this is her weakest performance, everyone else should be afraid.

7. Michael Sarver – Ok, country night, and its the only country-like singer left in the competition. He stayed true to the genre, performed, and sang a bunch of words. I don’t think I could tell him he did a bad job, he’d have a comeback against me. I still like him though, and like he said – it looked like he was having fun up there.

6. Scott Macintyre – That was the best I’ve heard him. I really liked what he did this week. I liked it better when he stayed low rather than him going higher, I disagree with Kara on this one. His timbre is better when low, he doesn’t have a good falsetto.

5. Megan Corkrey – She’s so awesomely awkward. I just wish she’d learn how to move on stage. She has such random movements. Still one of the most original performers on the show. Finding out she’s sick as well, makes me support her even more.

4. Danny Gokey – I was really worried for him at first, especially after the re-cap video. I thought he would stumble hard this week. But of course, Danny kicked in his voice when it mattered.

3. Allison Iraheta – She did well, I think it was shaky at first. Her voice seemed to be wavering. She finished strong though. I miss her harder edged raspy, power vocals though. I admit they wouldn’t have fit here though, so she did well. 

2. Adam Lambert – So I started laughing halfway though, not at him, but at the thought ‘you know, Johnny Cash had a really low voice’ haha. I think overall that was a cool rendition of the song though. Cash and his disciples probably would hate it. Adam, like me, is much happier now that country week is done.

1. Anoop Desai – Who the hell was that on stage? No way was that Anoop. He did really really well. I liked his performance the whole way through, and I really like that he came out and surprised me this week. The sound of his voice was very cool right when he started the song. I don’t think he has a chance to win, but he’s got my full support this week at least.

Leave a Reply

